In Connecticut, pistol permits are issued by local municipalities for residents and by the Department of Public Safety, Division of State Police for non-residents. The requirements include safety training equal to the NRA Basic Pistol Safety course. Non-residents must also have a pistol permit from any other state. This means that a New York resident can obtain a Utah pistol permit and then apply for a Connecticut permit.
- Obtain the application package from your local police department or first selectman’s office. (The main application form is standard, however each town may add information)
- Attend our NRA Basic Pistol Safety course. (click on Schedule to find a course)
- Submit your completed application with NRA certificate to your police agency.
- State law requires the issuing authority to make a decision within eight weeks. If denied, you may appeal to the Board of Firearms Examiners.
- Once you receive your Temporary State Permit, take it to the DPS in Middletown or other location and apply for a 5-year permit.
- Cost is $140 ($70 to town, $70 to state)
- Obtain the non-resident application package by calling the DPS at 860-685-8290
- Complete the entire application and include fingerprints, photograph and remember to have your forms notarized
- Cost is $70.00